top of page

United's fresh Boeing 787 from Chicago to Houston

This blog is not going to be a traditional blog with videos and not pictures.

On Wednesday July 10th 2013 the NEW United Boeing 787-8 was scheduled for a 3:40 PM departure from Chicago O'Hare International Airport (KORD). It was the middle of summer. All the summer sports were done and we had nothing to do. We had some drama before we headed to the airport. I had accedently deleted the reservation becasue the seats on the plane looked overbooked but we still had a chance. Before we left I had to scramble to recover the regestration. Fortunatley I got them back. Feeling a bit shakey I embarked on a wonderful but stressful journey to the airport.

We got to the airport went through security and arrived at our gate with one problem. The 787 isnt even at the gate! Finding out that the gate was being occupied by a United Boeing 777 was a bit suprising because I was excited that I would be able to take pictures. Anyway that sorrowness was over and finally after 45 minutes the 787 arrived at Terminal 1, Concourse B, gate B16. (I have no specific picture of the 787 at the gate but there are pictures and videos coming)

When I first saw the 787 my first Impression was "That is a beautiful aircraft, it better not break on me" . I was seriously scared the the flight would be cancelled because of aircraft maintenance problems. Fortunatley it didn't break.

For this flight back to Houston the flight # was United 134. Departure set for 3:40 PM and arrival set for 6:25 PM. Terminal and gate at Houston was unknown on the app and I dont recal what it was.

We started boarding and I was going through the gate really really really excited! I boarded the plane and my seat was in the middle of the wing so I had no view of the ground. I sat in my seat to discover a "HUGE" window, power outlets, and a screen which unfortunatley did not work. :( We pushed back on time to find ourselves lifting off at aproximately 3:38 PM. We quicly and quietly climbed to 38,000 feet where we were met by a few thunderstorms that we had to pass.

Cruising I really was amazed by how big the window of the Boeing 787 was.

We started descending to Houston 2 hours after departure. The flight was smooth as heck and also quiet. What really bothered me is that there in a fan that regulates the air under the airplane and itt vibrated a lot. It vibrated to the point when I got up to go to the bathroom I couldn't walk very well. I visited the bathroom with the ol Japanese toilet. It was a very big bathroom and lots of amentities.

When the seatbelt sign went on and the captain made the announcment I was sad that I was going to leave this beautiful aircraft. We got closer and closer to the airport and we finally landed. Here is the video of the landing:

The landing was pretty hard but with the double wheel landing gear the landing are usually hard.

We pulled into the gate with music playing we disembarked the legendary aircraft. We got off the gate really quickly because we had to rush to our gate to catch a flight to Orlando, Florida on a United Boeing 737.

Overall thoughts

I think the Boeing 787-8 is a "Beautiful, magnificant, quiet, roomy" aircraft considering the HUGE windows I am amazed at how big they are. The Service was good. Flight attendants were very nice. The interiour of the plane was a bit cheap but that was United's choice. Overall I really loved this flight and I hope to be on it soon.

You can view the whole flight video here:


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
  • Facebook App Icon
  • Instagram App Icon
  • YouTube Classic
  • Twitter App Icon
  • Flickr App Icon
  • Facebook App Icon
  • Instagram App Icon
  • YouTube Classic
  • Twitter App Icon
  • Flickr App Icon

Stay Connected

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey
  • YouTube Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Flickr Clean Grey

My Latest Video! 

bottom of page